The music blog Zachary Mule recently published a glowing review of our latest release, Third - you can read it in the press section of our website. Thanks to author Darren Tracy for the kind and insightful words!

Check out our new video, "The Making Of Third"—produced by wurm in conjunction with Twin Cities eMedia & Blackberry Way Records. This is the first in a series of Blackberry Way "In Studio" videos planned for release in the coming months.

Tracks from our new record Third are already hitting the radio airwaves: thanks to KFAI's Jackson Buck for spinning "Shaky Ground" on the April 4 edition of Freewheelin', as well as to Andrea Swensson for playing our rendition of "My Back Pages" on 89.3 The Current's Local Show on April 7.

Also be sure to tune in to Freewheelin' again this week (April 11) to hear an interview segment with our singer/guitarist Brian Drake!

Even though the calendar shows the first of April, it's no joke that our newest release Third is out now on Blackberry Way Records. Head on over to the music page to listen and/or buy yourself a copy.

And don't forget that our release party is coming up on April 13 at The Hook and Ladder Theater & Lounge in Minneapolis, with our friends Rich Mattson & The Northstars and Adam Levy rounding out the bill. All paid admissions receive a complimentary copy of Third!

Another milestone we can check off our collective bucket list: our first review in a language other than English. Rooted Sounds had some kind Spanish words to say about our most recent release, Colorwheel, calling it "una obra multifacética llena de matices y con una excelente producción, donde el lirismo y la muy personal voz bowieniana del compositor Brian Drake es magnificamente secundada por arreglos instrumentales exhuberantes y convincentes, a la par enérgicos que armónicos".

(English translation of above quote: "a multi-faceted work full of nuances and with an excellent production, where the lyricism and the very personal Bowie-esque voice of the composer Brian Drake is magnificently supported by exuberant and convincing instrumental arrangements, at the same time energetic and harmonious".)

Thanks to the Musicperk website for the first official review of our recently released 2nd album, Colorwheel. In addition to reviewing all 10 songs on the record, they gave it an overall 7.5 out of 10 stars, stating that "Colorwheel is an album that covers a wide array of genres in a well-packaged offering, in many ways serving as a homage to the respected bands of the previous era."

Musicperk also selected "Give It Up and Let It Go" as their pick of the week for March 5, 2018. "A rocker of a track with big-band influences, Give It Up has a cool Country sound and that oomph factor going for it. Refreshing with a generous dose of attitude..."

We're proud to have been the featured artist on the February 23, 2018 edition of Tom Lambert's Independent Music Show.

We are also featured in the March 2018 issue of the show's monthly magazine.

This is our first airplay outside of North America (at least that we're aware of). Thanks to Tom Lambert for the support!

Big news from The April Fools!

It's been hard to keep this under our hats, and now, here it is. On Sunday 11/19, the day after our smash CD release bash at The Hook & Ladder, Clay Williams told us he was leaving the band. We were stunned and sorry to hear the news but we all respected his decision. No gossip, no drama, no acrimony—we loved every single note we played over our four years together and we made two records that we're very proud of. We wish Clay all the best with all his current and future endeavors.

Things change—people come and people go as a matter of routine in the world of Rock and Roll—and life rolls on. If you're in it for real, you simply pick up and move forward. And, that's what we did.

We're very pleased to introduce our two new members: Dallas, TX transplant and guitarist/vocalist extraordinaire, Brad McLemore; and the beautiful and crazy-talented Minneapolis veteran (Flamin' Oh's, Tetes Noire, and more) Terri Owens, on guitar, mandolin, and vocals. They are both killer performers, singers, and writers. We knew exactly who we wanted and were beyond thrilled when they both enthusiastically said "yes!" After our first rehearsal it was pretty obvious we all made the right choice—and you'll get to hear us on 12/28 at the Aster Cafe in Minneapolis.

You're gonna dig it. We promise.

Colorwheel cover art.Here's the cover art and track list for our new album Colorwheel, set for release on Blackberry Way Records on November 18, 2017. If you're anywhere near Minneapolis, come celebrate with us!

  1. Calling The Kettle Black (3:51)
  2. She Belongs To Me (3:38)
  3. Warm Weather Dream (2:45)
  4. Black Is Black (3:35)
  5. Personal Sin (3:45)
  6. The Words To Sing (4:30)
  7. Give It Up And Let It Go (3:46)
  8. Sixteen Tons (3:06)
  9. Colorwheel (3:16)
  10. Around Here (4:02)

Package design by Clay Williams; cover painting by Ruby Drake.

Our second album <em>Colorwheel</em>, will be released on November 18, 2017 on Blackberry Way Records. Please join us for our <a href="/shows/colorwheel-cd-release-party">release party</a> at the Hook and Ladder Theater & Lounge, where we'll perform along with Rich Mattson and The Northstars AND The Magnolias.

Check back soon to hear tracks from the record and to find out where you can buy it&mdash;if you can't make it to the release party, that is!